NaPoWriMo – Day 19

A beautiful April-appropriately warm day after a very cold night. No complaints. Sunday and tomorrow I have work stuff to do so painting it was!

Never kept a gratitude journal
figured my heart knew the truth
Now in these peculiar times
aren’t they? peculiar? scary
afternoons, draining evenings,
nervous nights, tentative mornings
overall mighty peculiar. But,
I was grateful for a sun-warm day
after a plain cold night
Glad for the oatmeal and the
apple I chopped into it and for
the nutmeg and its ancient grater.
For the coffee grinder and press
and the cup and the second cup.
I headed out to paint that welcome light
and pulled off along the road
I studied the landscape and the clouds.
A man stopped to say he’d seen me there
before and wasn’t this a day?
We chatted across the roadway
then he and his dog went on their way.
Another car stopped to check on me
and I held up my painting in progress
THey were excited and happy and
pointed to the hedgerow behind them
which, they told me with equal joy
held a cemetery right up that way.
I was excited for them, sincerely,
to have found such happiness and today.

NaPoWriMo – Day 19

Leave a comment