Past the Ides of August

I’ve been sending out a poem a day. None on Sunday, two on Monday. Every day a poem. Which is, for me, what August Poetry Postcard Fest is all about – the dailiness which gets you into the habit of sitting down and being ready for the muse.

Today though, I went out hoping to paint. It was brutally hot and humid. I stopped to look at the field of sunflowers I’d looked at last evening. Then I stopped to get some cut sunflowers and find out if that field was part of their plantings. Nope! So I will have to find out who, hoping to get permission to walk in and look at them from the other side.

Shy sunflowers

Also seen: the purpose of a long-in-progress cement base and wood structure was revealed at the New Lebanon Town Park where a cupola now resides. No marker yet to say where it came from. Looks like great housing for bats!

Past the Ides of August

Leave a comment