A Little Help From…

our friends over at Applecare.

You know we recommend contacting Applecare a lot. After I did the data migration to my new computer the Mail program (granted not the most robust or satisfying thing in the Apple stable of software) would not open. Nothing.

I tried a few things, knowing I could always erase and do it from scratch but geesh. I have a lot of mail filters/rules that I would have to set up again. So, I took a shot at doing an Applecare chat.

I explained in the first chat message that I’d done a time machine migration and that mail wouldn’t open, it just hung. My second message was probably gold to the eyes on the other side of the screen: “so I created a test user and Mail opened fine there.”

The tech had me dis-enable all my mail accounts and try re-opening mail. Then after I sent him a screenshot (how’d she do that so fast, they probably wondered) of the pop up message we went ahead and imported the mail. Then went into Mail preferences and re-enabled all the accounts. I even managed to call the message viewer window the correct name!

Voila! Mail! While I was waiting for the chat to begin I looked at Photos – yup there and working, and iTunes – ditto. So now I’m good to mess around with the new computer!

mail? mail to import?

Leave a Reply

